National Seating & Mobility (NSM) has formed the NSM Thought Leadership Committee to address issues affecting the outcomes and mobility needs of individuals with a wide spectrum of disabilities and severe health conditions.
Established in July 2018, the collaborative brain trust is already actively working to provide solutions, inspire action, and advocate for changes needed to advance the CRT industry on behalf of the individuals it serves.

“Diverse teams often come up with the best solutions,” says Bill Mixon, CEO of NSM, based in Franklin, Tenn, in a news release.

“The professionals on our Thought Leadership Committee represent varying backgrounds, experiences and roles. Their contributions and perspectives are invaluable, and we are grateful for the group’s commitment and interest in helping us inspire change on behalf of those we serve.”

The NSM Thought Leadership Committee includes select NSM ATPs and executives, as well as professionals representing a variety of industry-related organizations. They include:

  • Claudia Amortegui, The Orion Group, President
  • Stephanie Buckley, NSM Vice President, Marketing
  • Gerry Dickerson, NSM ATP East, NRRTS President
  • John Goetz, Bridge Public Affairs, Senior Vice President
  • Tonya Hammatt, NSM Vice President, Payer Relations, West
  • Denise Harmon, NSM ATP Central
  • Ryan Peebles, NSM Director of Government Affairs
  • David Pietrzak, NSM Vice President Supply Chain & Vendor Management
  • Charles Sargeant, NSM Senior Vice President, Field Support Operations
  • Mark Schmeler, University of Pittsburgh Director of Continuing Education
  • Zach Stewart, NSM ATP East
  • Jeremy Stone, NSM Vice President, Payer Relations
  • Angie VanTassell, Alday Communications
  • Weesie Walker, NRRTS Executive Director
  • Laurie Watanabe, Executive Editor, Mobility Management Magazine

“NSM is prepared to lead by example,” Mixon adds.“We can set a tone for progress, but we can’t advance the industry alone. We have to work together to evolve for the benefit of those we serve.”

Committee members participate in an annual meeting and monthly calls to prioritize and discuss critical issues. Project leaders and subcommittees then work together to advance objectives in response to identified needs. Current priority topics include fee-for-service versus integrated risk sharing, client outcomes measurement, wheelchair ANSI/RESNA standards, funding for essential technology enhancements, and required documentation standards for order submissions, per the release.

[Source: National Seating & Mobility]