amputee-boardIn a recent news release, the Amputee Coalition, headquartered in Manassas, Va, announced its 2014 officers and board of directors. Selected members include Dennis Strickland, Georgia, who will serve as chairman; Marshall J. Cohzen, New York, who will serve as immediate past char; Dan Berschinski, California, chair-elect; Jeff Lutz, Louisiana, serving as vice-chair; Mahesh Mansukhani, California, secretary; and Leslie Pitt Schneider, Minnesota, who will serve as treasurer. The coalition notes that each officer is slated to serve for a one-year term.

Sue Stout, interim president and CEO, Amputee Coalition, emphasizes, “We are fortunate to have such accomplished board members who are also dedicated and passionate about serving the limb loss community.” Stout also classifies the backgrounds and expertise of the board members as “invaluable” to the Coalition.

In the release, Strickland articulates his honor in serving as chairman of the board, adding, “We will work to guide the Amputee Coalition as it continues to meet its mission of enhancing the quality of life for amputee and their families, improving patient care and preventing limb loss.”

Individuals who will continue with the board include Ron Drach of Maryland; Michael Estrada of North Carolina; Col. Gregory D. Gadson of Virginia; Terrence P. Sheehan, MD, of Maryland; and Charlie Steele of North Carolina.

Ann Berdy will also reportedly be stepping down from board. Stout notes that the Coalition is very appreciative of Berdy’s willingness to serve on its board of directors, “It is volunteers like Ann Berdy who make it possible for nonprofit organizations like the Amputee Coalition to carry out our mission,” Stout says.

Strickland also states that the board anticipates expanding and adding additional board members during the next 18 months.

Source: The Amputee Coalition