Danielle-MeltonAccording to a recent news release from the Amputee Coalition, Danielle Melton, MD, (pictured right) is set to serve as chair of its Scientific & Medical Advisory Committee (SciMAC). Melton, who has been on the committee since 2011, succeeds Stephen Wegener, PhD, who will continue to serve on the committee for 1 year as past chair.

Melton is director of the amputee program at TIRR Memorial Hermann Hospital, Houston. She also serves as assistant professor in the Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation and Orthopedic departments at the University of Texas Houston Health Science Center.

The Coalition also notes that it has added two new members to the committees. The new members include Jacqueline Hebert, MD, and Col Donald Gajewski, MD. Each new member is scheduled to serve for a 3-year term.

The release reports that Hebert will represent Canada on the SciMAC committee. She serves as clinical director of the Adult Amputee Program at the Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital in Alberta, Canada. Hebert is also chair of the Medical Advisory Committee for the Amputee Coalition of Canada. Gajewski, orthopedic surgeon, will serve as a military representative. Gajewski is the director of the Center for the Intrepid in San Antonio.

Members who will be stepping down from the committee as a result of expired terms are Christina Skoski, MD, and Natalie Fish, PT. The release also reports that Col Rachel Evans announced her retirement from the US Army and has stepped down from the committee as well.

Sue Stout, interim president and CEO, Amputee Coalition, extends the Coalition’s thanks to Skoski, Evans, and Fish for their dedication and service to SciMAC.

Sout adds, “I would like to thank Dr Wegener for his hard work and expertise in guiding the committee, and I look forward to Melton’s leadership. I would also like to thank Drs Hebert and Gajewski for joining the committee. The depth of their backgrounds and expertise will prove invaluable to the Coalition.”

[Source: Amputee Coalition]