The Foundation for Physical Therapy, Alexandria, Va, board of trustees recently awarded a total of $210,000 in promotion of doctoral studies (PODS I & II) scholarships to 19 PTs.

As part of its Doctoral Opportunities for Clinicians and Scholarships (DOCS) program, the Foundation awards PODS I scholarships of $7,500 annually to PTs or PT assistants who have completed at least two full semesters or three full quarters of their coursework toward a doctorate. PODS II scholarships of up to $15,000 each are awarded to PTs or PT assistants who have been formally admitted to doctoral candidacy.

Recipients of the 2009 PODS I scholarships are Eric Allen, MS, MPT, University of Iowa; Keith Avin, BS, MS, DPT, University of Iowa; Amy Feldman Bailes, PT, MS, PCS, University of Cincinnati; Alexandra Borstad, PT, NCS, Ohio State University; Stephanie Di Stasi, MSPT, CSCS, University of Delaware; Elisa Gonzalez-Rothi, DPT, University of Florida; Virginia Little, PT, MS, NCS, University of Florida; Ericka Merriwether, DPT, Washington University in St Louis; Lynnette Montgomery, BPhty, Ohio State University; and Richard Willy, MPT, BSSPS, University of Delaware.

Recipients of the 2009 PODS II scholarships are Shawn Farrokhi, DPT, University of Southern California; Bernadette Gillick, PT, University of Minnesota; Andrew Littman, PT, MA, NCS, University of Iowa; Erica Pitsch, MPT, University of Southern California; Barbara Smith, MPT, University of Florida; Kristen Stearns, MSPT, University of Southern California; Jill Stewart, PT, MS, NCS, University of Southern California; William Thompson, DPT, University of Delaware; and Lori Tuttle, MPT, Washington University in St Louis.

The PODS I scholarship awarded to Di Stasi was made possible by the Marquette Challenge, c-sponsored by the University of Pittsburgh. The annual grassroots student fundraising effort coordinated by PT students from Marquette University has become so successful that it continues to fund a PODS I scholarship in addition to funding research grants, says the Foundation.

Gonzalez-Rothi was awarded the Barnes-Leahy scholarship, given to a PODS I recipient for post-professional studies in neurology. The award is given in memory of neurology section members and accomplished PTs Marylou Barnes, PT, FAPTA and Patricia Leahy, PT, says the Foundation.

Littman was awarded the Viva J. Erickson Doctoral Scholarship, given to a PODS recipient for post-professional doctoral studies.The scholarship aims to help prepare the recipient for academic leadership in physical therapy education programs. The award is funded by the Viva J. Erickson Fund established in 1995 in memory of this accomplished PT and American Physical Therapy Association leader, says the Foundation.

Smith was awarded for the second year the Scot C. Irwin, PT, DPT, CCS scholarship, given to an accomplished PODS recipient for post-professional studies in cardiovascular and pulmonary studies. The award is given in memory of accomplished PT and cardiovascular and pulmonary section member Scot C. Irwin, PT, DPT, CCS, says the Foundation.

Tax deductible contributions can be made in support of the Foundation at or sent to Foundation for Physical Therapy, PO Box 1017, Merrifield, VA 22116-9767. For more information, call (800) 875-1378.

The Foundation for Physical Therapy is a national, independent, nonprofit corporation that aims to improve the quality and delivery of patient care by providing support for scientifically based and clinically relevant physical therapy research.

[Source: American Physical Therapy Association]