Sarepta Therapeutics Inc announces 15 recipients of Route 79, The Duchenne Scholarship Program. This is the 4th year of the scholarship program, which was created to recognize exceptional individuals living with Duchenne muscular dystrophy as they pursue their post-secondary education.

Recipients of this scholarship were chosen by an independent selection committee composed of Duchenne community members, who consider each applicant’s community involvement and a personal essay. Each student will receive a scholarship of up to $5,000.

“The awardees have shown tremendous determination, resiliency and dedication to their academic pursuits, even in the face of the challenges and disruptions resulting from the ongoing pandemic. We are honored to support these young adults in their journey through higher education, and we wish them new opportunities and success in the school year ahead.”

— Diane Berry, Sarepta’s Senior Vice President of Global Health Policy, Government and Patient Affairs

2021 Recipients – Route 79, The Duchenne Scholarship Program

Porter Aydelotte, Saddleback College

Brett Dettmer, University of Missouri-Columbia

Billy Ellsworth, Community College of Allegheny County

Aiden Fecteau, Eastern Connecticut State University

Bryson Foster, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Yuvaraj Gambhir, University of Pennsylvania

Ethan Higginbotham, Wichita State University

Brian Le, Stanford University

Jake Marrazzo, Wheaton College

Darrel Nicklow, Jr., Florida Gulf Coast University

Spencer Poole, Saint Joseph’s College-Suffolk Campus

James Scott, University of San Diego

Parker Strobeck, North Arkansas College

Tayjus Surampudi, Harvard University

Joseph Ware, Liberty University

In addition to application review by the independent committee, submissions are de-identified for the voting panel with no indication of whether the candidate has received, or plans to receive, a Sarepta therapy.

[Source(s): Sarepta Therapeutics Inc, GlobeNewswire]